The outward journey - Reisverslag uit Alicedale, Zuid-Afrika van Lisette Koolwijk - WaarBenJij.nu The outward journey - Reisverslag uit Alicedale, Zuid-Afrika van Lisette Koolwijk - WaarBenJij.nu

The outward journey

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lisette

09 Februari 2015 | Zuid-Afrika, Alicedale

What a journey! Lisette wouldn't be Lisette if nothing went wrong.. The flight itself was not half as bad as I expected it to be. The flight took 11 hours, excluding the 30 minutes delay due to a broken thermostat that had to be replaced. KLM nevertheless stuffed me with food; nuts, biscuits, ice cream, desserts, pizza, red cabbage with mashed potatoes and beef, crackers with Dutch cheese and tomato with mozzarella. They wouldn't stop! Also there was a TV screen situated in the backside of the chair in front of me, which gave me the opportunities to watch soccer, Family Guy, one of the worst Dutch movies ever, Rizzoli & Isles and listen to Skyradio! When the airplane finally reached the ground it seemed like nothing could go wrong anymore.

WRONG! At the airport they explicitly told me to pick up my luggage, even if I still would have a domestic flight coming up. At the passport control they told me the same. Unfortunately that was not supposed to happen and therefore I passed my hotel which was situated before passport control. I was not allowed to go back to that area anymore, so there I was; all by myself, no place to stay. Luckily I found a woman, who seemed 32 years old but apparently was 52 years old (jealous, mom?). She helped me to One World Hotel, which was situated only 5 km away by car and where I could sleep for 650 Rand. Unfortunately my world charger did not fit the socket and the code for the free WiFi was nowhere to be found. My phone almost died on me, but I found myself smart enough to charge it via my laptop which I did not need.

Luckily I woke up in time and due to the nerves I only ate the egg from the complete English breakfast. At 9.00 I was on my way to the airport of Johannesburg again, where I found myself lost again. A man helped me to get rid of my luggage and to get to the gate, after which I was heading towards a less pleasant flight. Again I left with a delay, which could have easily been 60 minutes. The landing brought along such a large pressure change that there were people crying and getting sick. Luckily we all survived and it was not too hard to find the Stenden sign at Port Elizabeth airport. Almost immediately I could enter the car which brought me to my final destination. From what I have seen so far the group of people is really nice and at the hotel next to our accommodation a group of 56 youngsters can be found of which quite some guys. Really convenient for a girly girl like me, when looking at the fact that in our group of Wildlife students only 2 guys can be found.

I also already tried the pool and it seems just fine! Also the food was good, some spicy meat and some strange oliebollen. Tomorrow 7.00 breakfast and 8.30 my first class!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Afrika, Alicedale

Lisette

Actief sinds 02 Feb. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 203
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6647

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Februari 2015 - 11 April 2015

Wildlife Management in Zuid-Afrika

Landen bezocht: